Supporting Organizations

National Science Foundation (NSF)

The NSF is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 to promote the progress of science and research knowledge in the United States.  Since the  inception in the early 2000s of the Racial Democracy, Crime and Justice Network (RDCJN), its activities have been supported by grants from NSF’s Sociology and Law and Social Sciences’ programs, including the following:  SES-0531536, SES-0731473, SES-0925068, and SES-1229098.  The Network is especially indebted to Dr. Patricia White, Program Director of Sociology.  Early on, Dr. White recognized the potential of our vision for broadening participation.  She has been joined in her support by other Sociology Directors, and by a series of Law and Social Sciences’ Program Directors, most recently Dr. Susan Sterett.


Rutgers University-Newark’s School of Criminal Justice (RSCJ)

Rutgers School of Criminal Justice was founded almost forty years ago, and ever since opening its doors, the school has been recognized among the leading programs in the field. Over the years, Rutgers School of Criminal Justice’s faculty have made significant contributions to criminal justice policy and criminological theory, and the school’s graduates have taken their places among the most productive and well-respected scholars in the field. Today, studies show that Rutgers School of Criminal Justice continues to rank among the top criminal justice programs, nationwide, with special regard to the school’s graduate programs.


The Ohio State University Criminal Justice Research Center (CJRC)

The CJRC was established in 1989 as the focal point for collaborative interdisciplinary research and intellectual exchange on crime/delinquency and justice issues.  Throughout its history, CJRC has been the home for the RDCJN.  Under its Director, Dr. Dana Haynie, CJRC generously provides supplemental funds as well as space and administrative support for the activities of the RDCJN, especially its Crime and Justice Summer Research Institute (SRI).


Beyond NSF, Rutgers and Ohio State

Beyond NSF, Rutgers and Ohio State, a number of Universities have generously sponsored their own graduate students’ attendance at the Annual RDCJN Workshops, including: Arizona State University’s School of Social TransformationUniversity of Florida’s Department of Sociology and Criminology & LawCalifornia Lutheran University, University of Missouri – St. LouisUniversity of Texas – Arlington, Michigan State University, Indiana University – Bloomington, and University of Washington’s Department of Sociology.


Finally, Faculty throughout the United States have given their time and energy to serve as project reviewers or mentors for young scholars participating in the RDCJN’s summer institute.  To date, beyond the 30-plus scholars at Ohio State, approximately 55 scholars from around the country have served in one or both of these roles.